UWF Honorary Awards and Recognition Committee Meeting

Monday, August 23, 2021 2:00 p.m. via Zoom Minutes Approved by Committee on May 2, 2024

Attendees: President Martha Saunders, Provost George Ellenberg, Dean DeBolt, SGA President Ruben Gardner, Alexis Janosik, Chula King, Heather Riddell, Dr. Pat Wentz, and Howard Reddy (chair). Geri Battist attended as committee coordinator.

Joined after adjournment: Committee members Deborah Cluff and Jeffrey Simpson (delayed due to class schedule.

Minutes prepared by Committee Coordinator Geri Battist.

WELCOME

Chair Howard Reddy called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. Chair Reddy welcomed and thanked committee members for attending.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Chair Reddy asked for a motion to approve the February 7, 2020, meeting minutes. Provost George Ellenberg made a motion to accept the minutes and Chula King seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously. The minutes shall not be publicly posted until after the HDD recipient award mentioned in the minutes takes place.

INTRODUCTION AND DISCUSSION OF UWF FOUNDERS MEDALLION NOMINATIONS

Chair Reddy briefly reviewed with the committee the criteria for the UWF Founders Medallion. Chair Reddy presented the first nomination packet received for UWF Staff Retiree Martha Lee Blodgett. The item was open for discussion. Committee members Dean DeBolt, Pat Wentz, Provost Ellenberg and Chula King expressed their agreement on how the nominee met the criteria for the recognition with no objections to the nomination. Dean DeBolt made the motion to accept the UWF Founders Medallion Nomination for Martha Lee Blodgett. The motion was seconded by Chula King. The motion carried unanimously with no objections. The chair will prepare and send a letter to the President with HARC approval of recommendation to bring before UWF BOT for confirmation of approval at the Sept. 16, 2021, meeting.

Chair Reddy presented the second nomination packet received for former UWF Faculty Gary "Sandy" Spivey. The item was open for discussion. Provost Ellenberg expressed that the nominee fell short in terms of impact of time at the institution, (records of substantial and sustained services and or leadership to the University) and suggested the School of Music do something such as a Resolution to recognize Mr. Spivey for his impact on the music students/program. Committee Member Chula King also commented that she did not see evidence of nominee meeting the threshold for the UWF Founders Medallion criteria. Committee Member Dean DeBolt acknowledged the contributions made by the nominee but did not feel they were adequate to meet the UWF Founders Medallion criteria. The consensus of the committee was not to award the UWF Founders Medallion based upon the nominee not meeting the criteria threshold for the award. Provost Ellenberg made the motion to not award the UWF Founders Medallion to nominee Spivey. Committee member King seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously with no objections. The chair will prepare and send a

letter/memo to nominator Dr. Peter Steenblik with the committee's recommendation that the Dr. Grier Williams School of Music consider recognition at the school level.

OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business to discuss.

ADJOURNMENT

The chair adjourned the meeting at 2:08 p.m.