UWF Honorary Awards and Recognition Committee Meeting

Thursday, April 4, 2019
3:00 p.m.
10/131 Conference Room
Approved by Committee on May 2, 2024

Attendees: President Martha Saunders, Provost George Ellenberg, Deborah Cluff, Denice Curtis, Dr. Laura Dees, Dr. Chula King, Dr. Leonid Yanovskiy, and Howard Reddy (chair). Geri Battist attended as administrative support.

Not Present: Committee members Dean DeBolt, Dr. Leonard ter Haar, and SGA President Brandon Malone were unable to attend the meeting. Both DeBolt and ter Haar provided input through email prior to the meeting.

Minutes prepared by Geri Battist. Updated with nominee name after HDD bestowed Nov. 11, 2022.

WELCOME

Chair Howard Reddy called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. Chair Reddy welcomed and thanked committee members for attending.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Committee member Dr. Chula King made the motion to approve the January 30, 2018, DRAFT meeting minutes with no revisions. Seconded by: Committee Dr. George Ellenberg; motion carried by all committee members present.

INTRODUCTION AND DISCUSSION OF PROPOSED HONORARY DOCTORATE DEGREE NOMINATION

Chair Reddy presented the candidate nomination for honorary doctorate degree (Doctorate of Humane Letters) endorsed by College of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities Dean Steven Brown for Mr. Carl Hiaasen.

After a brief discussion, Chair Reddy asked for a motion to make a recommendation to the President to approve the nomination of Carl Hiaasen for an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters to be awarded at an appropriate ceremony. Dr. King made the motion and Dr. Yanovskiy seconded. All members were in favor, and the motion carried unanimously.

The chair will prepare and send a letter to the President with HARC approval of recommendation to bring before UWF BOT for approval at the June 19, 2019, meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

No further business was on the agenda. The chair adjourned the meeting at 3:16 p.m.