

HONORS CONVOCATION

Friday, April 1, 2016

UNIVERSITY of WEST FLORIDA

PROGRAM

PRESIDING

Martha Saunders, Provost and Executive Vice President

PRELUDE

UWF Jazz Combo — Joseph T. Spaniola, *Director*

NATIONAL ANTHEM

Melissa Lashbrook

AWARDS

OUTSTANDING UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS

 $\label{eq:college} \begin{tabular}{ll} College of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities — Steven Brown, Dean \\ College of Business — W. Timothy O'Keefe, Dean \\ College of Education and Professional Studies — William Crawley, Dean \\ College of Health — Ermalynn Kiehl, Dean \\ Hal Marcus College of Science and Engineering — Michael Huggins, Dean \\ University College — Kim LeDuff, Dean \\ \end{tabular}$

Kugelman Honors — Kim LeDuff, Dean

DELTA SIGMA PI SCHOLARSHIP KEY

W. Timothy O'Keefe, Dean, College of Business

OUTSTANDING MASTER'S THESIS AWARD

 ${\it John Clune}, {\it Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs}$

RICHARD AND SANDRA BERG SCHOLAR ATHLETE AWARD

James Hurd, Senior Associate Vice President, Student Affairs

2015-2016 JOHN C. PACE SCHOLARS

Judith A. Bense, President

HAL CROSBY LEADERSHIP AWARD

Judith A. Bense, President

PRESIDENT'S AWARD FOR LEADERSHIP IN DIVERSITY

Judith A. Bense, President

DISTINGUISHED FACULTY RESEARCH & CREATIVE ACTIVITIES AWARDS

Richard Harper, *Associate Vice President* Center for Research and Economic Opportunity

UWF FLORIDA RESEARCH FELLOWSHIP AWARDS

Richard Harper, *Associate Vice President* Center for Research and Economic Opportunity

STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION DISTINGUISHED TEACHING AWARDS

Zachary Laczko, SGA University Outreach Chair

ADJUNCT FACULTY EXCELLENCE AWARDS

Martha Saunders, Provost and Executive Vice President

FACULTY EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING OR ADVISING AWARDS

Martha Saunders, Provost and Executive Vice President

DISTINGUISHED FACULTY SERVICE AWARD

Martha Saunders, Provost and Executive Vice President

UWF ALMA MATER

Melissa Lashbrook

POSTLUDE

 ${\it UWF Jazz \, Combo-Joseph \, T. \, Spaniola, } {\it Director}$

STUDENT AWARDS

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Awards

COLLEGE OF ARTS, SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES

Jared L. Cannon — Political Science, B.A.

Maggie E. Crain — History, B.A.

Colleen E. Jennings — Digital Art, B.F.A.

Robert E. Lee — International Studies, B.A.

Emily Nolan — Music, B.M.E.

Rebekah J. Pyle — Music, B.M.

McKenzie Richards — English, B.A.

Mark E. Roberson — Maritime Studies, B.A.

Kerry A. Sandell — Theatre, B.A.

Grace A. Tennyson — Communication Arts, B.A.

Jeffrey M. Walton — Philosophy, B.A.

Svitlana Belova Valdez — Anthropology, B.A.

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Kelly A. Chen — Accounting, B.S.B.A.

Victoria Corman — Comprehensive Marketing, B.S.B.A.

David L. Hall — Hospitality, Recreation and Resort Management, B.S.

Christian M. Hiebel — Comprehensive Economics, B.S.B.A.

Jessica L. Lanning — Management Information Systems, B.S.B.A.

Jared L. Morris — Finance, B.S.B.A.

Carey B. Stabenau — Management, B.S.B.A.

Jimmy Vuong — General Business, B.S.B.A.

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND PROFESSIONAL STUDIES

Kelley C. Bahn — Exceptional Student Education/ELEM/ESOL/Reading, B.A.
Lisa C. Grier — Interdisciplinary Social Sciences, Children and Society, B.A.
Allyson A. McClain — Army ROTC
Francisco P. Mendez — Middle School Education/English/Math, B.A.
Jamie D. Mitchell — Elementary Education/ESOL/Reading, B.A.
David Moorhead — Engineering Technology/Building Construction, B.S.
Haleigh N. Pascoe — Legal Studies, B.A.

Susan J. Schneider — Information Technology/Network Systems Operations, B.S.

Therese A. Thomson — Air Force ROTC

Charles E. Walsingham — Health, Leisure and Exercise Science/

Sport Management, B.S.

 $\label{eq:asymptotic bound} Ashley \, M. \, Wood-Workforce \, and \, Professional \, Studies, B.S. \\ Lisa \, D. \, Vargo-Social \, Work, \, B.S.W.$

COLLEGE OF HEALTH

Amber N. Babcock — Psychology, B.A.
Sable Bowman — Health Sciences-Public Health, B.S.
Teresa M. Brooks — Clinical Laboratory Sciences, B.S.
Michelle R. De La Cruz — Exercise Science, B.S.
Delvonte Dixon — Fitness and Conditioning, B.S.
Jessica A. Evans — Athletic Training, B.S.
Vanessa B. Kennedy — Nursing, B.S.N.
Amanda R. Marcanio — Health Promotion, B.S.
Melissa N. Miedzinski — Physical Education/Teacher Education, B.S.

HAL MARCUS COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Haley Anderson — Environmental Science, B.S.
Shawn T. Harrell — Mathematics, B.S.
Benjamin Medeiros — Biology, B.S.
Penny Nelsen — Oceanography, B.S.
Jeremiah N. Seames — Electrical Engineering, B.S.
Andrew R. Shroeder — Chemistry/Biochemistry, B.S.
Anthony J. Stevens — Computer Engineering, B.S.
Mikayla P. Timm — Computer Science, B.S.
Sheridan M. Wilkinson — Marine Biology, B.S.
Justin A. Williams — Physics, B.S.

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE

Sheilamae N. Jensen — Pre-BSN

KUGELMAN HONORS

Connor D. Wagner — Environmental Science, B.S.

STUDENT AWARDS

Continued

DELTA SIGMA PI SCHOLARSHIP KEY

Jared L. Morris — Finance, B.S.B.A.

OUTSTANDING MASTER'S THESIS AWARD

Katelyn Ashley Houghton, Biology "Responses in Bacterioplankton Production and Community Structure after Exposure to Oil and Dispersant in the Northeastern Gulf of Mexico" Thesis Advisor: Dr. Wade Jeffrey, Biology

Honorable Mentions

Jodie Page Gray, Computer Science
"Automated Detection of Swimbladder Regions in the Striped Burrfish
Using a Modified Snakes Active Contour Algorithm"
Thesis Advisor: Dr. Thomas P. Reichherzer, Computer Science

Catharine Davisson Gross, Earth and Environmental Sciences
"Coastal Dune Lakes of Northwest Florida: Lakes,
Estuaries, or Unique Aquatic Systems?"
Thesis Advisor: Dr. Matthew C. Schwartz, Earth and Environmental Sciences

RICHARD AND SANDRA BERG SCHOLAR ATHLETE AWARD

James Love — Chemistry/Biochemistry — Men's Soccer Amelia Strom — Legal Studies — Women's Swimming and Diving

2015-2016 JOHN C. PACE SCHOLARS

Abigail Allgood William Brock Leoni Dupuis Jerrad Havemann Vivian Lopez-Perez Melinda Morgan

PRESIDENT'S AWARD FOR LEADERSHIP IN DIVERSITY

Student Award — Kishane Patel

FACULTY AWARDS

PRESIDENT'S AWARD FOR LEADERSHIP IN DIVERSITY

Faculty Award — Justice Mbizo

DISTINGUISHED FACULTY RESEARCH & CREATIVE ACTIVITIES AWARDS

Karen Molek, Chemistry

UWF FLORIDA RESEARCH FELLOWSHIP AWARDS

Thomas Asmuth, Art Peter Cavnar, Biology Jennifer Feltman, Art

Susan James, Teacher Education and Educational Leadership Kristina Kilgrove, Anthropology Johan Liebens, Earth and Environmental Sciences

SGA DISTINGUISHED TEACHING AWARDS

Rick Scott, College of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities
John Batchelor, College of Business
Sarah Luczyk, College of Education and Professional Studies
Thomas Westcott, College of Health
Toby Daly-Engel, Hal Marcus College of Science and Engineering

ADJUNCT FACULTY EXCELLENCE AWARDS

Sam Russel, Engineering Shannon Holst, English

FACULTY EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING OR ADVISING AWARDS

Eric Bostwick, Finance Angela Calcaterra, English Susan James, Teacher Education and Educational Leadership David Ramsey, Government Tim Royappa, Chemistry

DISTINGUISHED FACULTY SERVICE AWARD

Susan Harrell, Legal Studies

UNIVERSITY of WEST FLORIDA

Alma Mater

Where learning's light sends forth its beam

Through darkness of our youth,

There you, West Florida, home of dreams

Prepare the way of truth.

You guide us toward tomorrow's shore
With knowledge of our past;
Your power in us rests secure,
And evermore will last.

Your stately mansions were our home

Where minds and hearts are free

And though we may far from you roam,

We'll always honor thee.

Composer: Lynne Lauderdale, D.M.A. Lyricist: A. Michael Yots, Ph.D.



11000 University Parkway Pensacola, FL 32514 850.474.3000 **uwf.edu**