Honors Convocation Award Winners - 2016

Adjunct Faculty Excellence Awards
  • Shannon Holst, English
  • Sam Russel, Engineering
Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key
  • Jared L. Morris, Finance
Distinguished Faculty Research & Creative Activities Awards
  • Karen Molek, Chemistry
Distinguished Faculty Service Award
  • Susan Harrell, Legal Studies
Faculty Excellence in Teaching or Advising Awards


  • Eric Bostwick, Finance
  • Angela Calcaterra, English
  • Susan James, Teacher Education and Educational Leadership
  • David Ramsey, Government
  • Tim Royappa, Chemistry
Hal Crosby Leadership Award
  • Daniel McBurney
John C. Pace Scholars for 2015-2016
  • Abigail Allgood
  • William Brock
  • Leoni Dupuis
  • Jerrad Havemann
  • Vivian Lopez-Perez
  • Melinda Morgan
Outstanding Master's Thesis Awards

Katelyn Ashley Houghton, Biology

"Responses in Bacteriaplankton Production and Community Structure after Exposure to Oil and Dispersant in the Northeastern Gulf of Mexico"

Thesis Advisor: Dr. Wade Jeffrey, Biology

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Awards

College of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities

  • Jared L. Cannon, Political Science
  • Maggie E. Crain, History
  • Colleen E. Jennings, Digital Art
  • Robert E. Lee, International Studies
  • Emily Nolan, Music
  • Rebekah J. Pyle, Music
  • McKenzie Richards, English
  • Mark E. Roberson, Maritime Studies
  • Kerry A. Sandell, Theatre
  • Grace A. Tennyson, Communication Arts
  • Jeffrey M. Walton, Philosophy
  • Svitlana Belova Valdez, Anthropology

College of Business

  • Kelly A. Chen, Accounting
  • Victoria Corman, Comprehensive Marketing
  • David L. Hall, Hospitality, Recreation and Resort Management
  • Christian M. Hiebel, Comprehensive Economics
  • Jessica L. Lanning, Management Information Systems
  • Jared L. Morris, Finance
  • Carey B. Stabenau, Management
  • Jimmy Vuong, General Business

College of Educational and Professional Studies

  • Kelley C. Bahn, Exceptional Student Education/ELEM/ESOL/Reading
  • Lisa C. Grier, Interdisciplinary Social Scinces, Children and Society
  • Allyson A. McClain, Army ROTC
  • Francisco P. Mendez, Middle School Education/English/Math
  • Jamie D. Mitchell, Elementary Education/ESOL/Reading
  • David Moorhead, Engineering Technology/Building Construction
  • Haleigh N. Pascoe, Legal Studies
  • Susan J. Schneider, Information Technology/Network Systems Operations
  • Therese A. Thomson, Air Force ROTC
  • Charles E. Walsingham, Health, Leisure and Exercise Science/Sport Management
  • Ashley M. Wood, Workforce and Professional Studies
  • Lisa D. Vargo, Social Work

College of Health

  • Amber N. Babcock, Psychology
  • Sable Bowman, Health Sciences-Public Health
  • Teresa M. Brooks, Clinical Laboratory Sciences
  • Michelle R. De La Cruz, Exercise Science
  • Delvonte Dixon, Fitness and Conditioning
  • Jessica A. Evans, Athletic Training
  • Vanessa B. Kennedy, Nursing
  • Amanda R. Marcanio, Health Promotion
  • Melissa N. Miedzinski, Physical Education/Teacher Education

Hal Marcus College of Science and Engineering

  • Haley Anderson, Environmental Science
  • Shawn T. Harrell, Mathematics
  • Benjamin Medeiros, Biology
  • Penny Nelsen, Oceanography
  • Jeremiah N. Seames, Electrical Engineering
  • Andrew R. Shroeder, Chemistry/Biochemistry
  • Anthony J. Stevens, Computer Engineering
  • Mikayla P. Timm, Computer Science
  • Sheridan M. Wilkinson, Marine Biology
  • Justin A. Williams, Physics

University College

  • Sheilamae N. Jensen, Pre-BSN

Kugelman Honors Program

  • Connor D. Wagner, Environmental Science
President's Award for Leadership in Diversity
  • Kishane Patel, Student recipient
  • Justice Mbizo, Faculty recipient
Richard and Sandra Berg Scholar Athlete Awards
  • James Love, Chemistry/Biochemistry, Men's Soccer
  • Amelia Strom, Legal Studies, Women's Swimming and Diving
SGA Distinguished Teaching Awards
  • John Batchelor, College of Business
  • Toby Daly-Engel, Hal Marcus College of Science and Engineering
  • Sarah Luczyk, College of Education and Professional Studies
  • Rick Scott, College of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities
  • Tom Westcott, College of Health
UWF Florida Research Fellowship Awards
  • Thomas Asmuth, Art
  • Peter Cavnar, Biology
  • Jennifer Feltman, Art
  • Susan James, Teacher Education and Educational Leadership
  • Kristina Kilgrove, Anthropology
  • Johan Liebens, Earth and Environmental Sciences